Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Skinny Babou
Skinny Babou
Publicité
Skinny Babou
Derniers commentaires
Archives
5 mai 2005

Review: Vitalic -Ok Cowboy-

                     
 

vitalicWhy have I been waiting Vitalic debut album for such a long time? Well, the reasons are quite simple:

After very good maxis on french labels ("Funkerstic EP" on Step 2 house, and "copy kills music" on Choice, under the pseudo Dima), Pascal Arbez A.K.A Vitalic signed in 2001 on International DJ Gigolo and released one of the best tunes in Electro history "Poney E.P": 4 wicked tracks (This EP never leaves my flight case). After this massive international success, Vitalic decided to create his own label "Citizen" and regularly released good quality EPs (Eg: The silures "fishnets"). His last 2 maxis have been, however, a bit dissapointing :"my friend Dario" and in particluar "Fanfares, Candy, Woo" sound a bit too similar to "Poney E.P" but without having the same impact (made with the same ingredients but without the same flavour, if you know what I mean).
And so, inexorably, I was wondering if Vitalic was tryin' to copy himself?

 

From now, I guess you want to know what I think about Vitalic debut album? Well, I'm gonna tell you........... it's just brilliant!

The album opens with "Polkaniatic": the perfect start to get into Vitalic's mind. The following tunes: "Polkaniatic","The past", "trahison" (What a tune!!!!! tears might come off!) seems to be a real, sincere and beautiful tribute to Giorgio Moroder and JM Jarre works.

For people looking for more groovy and techno tunes, you won't be dissapointed by "no fun" (A new anthem to the dancefloor?); "dario, my friend","woo" (I know, I previously said that I didn't like them but after few listenings I might change my mind) and of course the classic tunes "Poney part1", "Poney part 2" and "la rock".

You will also find "repair machines", which combines the power of "poney" and the beauty of "trahison".

At last, the album ends with a worthy electro pop walk "U and I" and probably the less valuable track of the album "valetta fanfares" (which sounds like a military band).

In short, I'd say that "OK cowboy" is one of the best techno album of the last years and Vitalic is one the most innovative producer (he only uses machines and none instrument). So, Please Pascal keep making people's heart pound; do not change, do not turn like the Daft Punk did.
Much Respect to you.

Rating: 9/10 (coz, it's close to perfection)


If you want to listen to Vitalic Album (and I'm not talking about shitty 30 sec audio extracts), click here

Links
: http://www.vitalic.org/
          http://www.citizen-records.com/

See the video clip of "Dario my friend"

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité